Why should my parents’/grandparents’ nativity decide my career/life?

Cancer_hallmark_divide

I’ve been having this question on my mind ever since division of Andhra Pradesh. Yes, it has been an emotional decision rather than a logical one. But, ever since the Telangana movement strengthened, only one question came up. And, that was, are you from Andhra or Telangana? When did our parents’ or our grandparents’ nativity start deciding our careers? Why should someone judge me based on my nativity or where I come from?

I’m born here, my parents are born in Hyderabad, my grandparents are from here. So, why should anyone of us take all this? For those unaffected, it doesn’t matter. But, the moment you say something in Telugu, you are judged. The autowallah asks you where you are from, the cab driver wants to know your nativity and even a small kid talks about it? Why? Why is the dialect becoming a deciding factor of our careers/ our lives in a country that’s democratic?

At a time when we have videos, posters and emojis online and offline, asking each one of us to stop judging the other and concentrate on our lives, we have people dividing us based on our birthplace/nativity/religion/political affiliation? Have we become so blind that we have stopped asking ourselves these questions? Have we become so blind that we are trusting people to the extent of breaking off our relationships, spewing venom on us, polluting our minds and dividing us further?

The answer is open to your own interpretation.

One thought on “Why should my parents’/grandparents’ nativity decide my career/life?

Leave a Reply

